The Mark of a Man

So, I’m chatting with my cousin on the phone while her boys and my boys play on the swing set in our backyard this afternoon.  And she casually mentions that she’s just applied her husband’s Old Spice deodorant because she’s out of her own.

I was immediately appalled and started stammering on the phone.

“Wha…wha?!”

She was all, “So what if I smell like a dude?  It’s only for one evening.”

I retorted, “You don’t smell like any dude.  You smell like an old dude.  Not cool.  Wait right there.  I’m throwing you some real deodorant over the fence.”

I made my way to the linen cabinet to locate my big-box-store-special multi-pack of girly deodorant.  I broke loose a lovely, original clean scent variety and walked outside.  The kids gave me with a puzzled look through their super hero masks but no one asked why I was walking around with deodorant.  (I guess they’ve seen much crazier stuff around here.)  Well, I marched up to the fence and tossed it right over.

Girls don’t let girls smell like Old Spice.

Consider that your PSA for the day.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bethany actually
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 02:09:19

    I like the smell of Old Spice! I often prefer the scents of men’s deodorants to women’s. 🙂

    Reply

  2. cc
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 03:52:33

    Once I used the “men’s” shampoo I bought for Shawn when I ran out. I figured it wouldn’t make any difference. I smelled like him. It was weird and comforting at the same time.

    Plus, until a year and a half ago, Shawn wore powder scented deodorant. It was a men’s deodorant. I was the only one close enough to his pit to smell it and I hated the smell of men’s deodorant.

    Reply

  3. citystreams
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 06:43:53

    That’s awesome! But I think I’m more enamored with the fact that you live next door to your cousin and have her kids over to play while you talk on the phone. That’s so cool. I’m dying to know, though, why didn’t y’all sit around and talk face to face while the kids played?

    Reply

  4. Angela
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 11:15:25

    LOL, that’s funny!

    Reply

  5. onescrappygal
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 14:01:00

    LOL!! That is too funny!!

    My husband uses MY deodarant/body wash/shampoo/conditioner. He says that now he knows such luxurious choices exist… he can’t go back to what he used to use. Plus I think it comforts him to smell me when he’s underway. Much better than putting a pair of panties I worked out in into a ziploc bag. Trust me… MANY women on board do this. GROSS!

    I once sent a friend a 6 pack of coke and some girly deodarant for her birthday!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

