Rainy Day Activities

Ahhh, right now Cutie Pie is in bed.  He fell asleep at the dinner table.  At 6 PM!  That’s what no nap and 5 hours of swimming with the cousins will do to a 2 1/2 year old.  Wildman in quietly playing blocks in his room with J.  It’s so peaceful here.  It’s been a good day.  Luckily, we had a wonderful afternoon of sunshine again.  Steph and I made the most of it by letting the kids go wild in the pool all afternoon.  By the end of the afternoon all four boys were completely naked and diving into the pool.  So, so fun!  The rains came back as soon as we got home.  But that’s okay.  At least we got to enjoy some quality outdoor time for a while.

In my previous post I mentioned the week-long monsoon that we experienced last week.  It was difficult being stuck indoors for that long.  The kids were bored.  I was crazy trying to keep them happy and entertained.  We were all crawling the walls in a daze of cabin fever.

One of the fun activities I let the kids partake in to get their minds off of the fact that they were stuck inside was painting with squeeze paint.  They loooooved it.  Both of them love to squeeze stuff.  Glue, paint, toothpaste…  You name it, they love it.  I had a roll of craft paper from IKEA stashed away so I tore off a big piece for each of them.  We went outside to the back porch because I don’t have a tiled craft area big enough for two preschoolers and their paint supplies.  Paint and carpet do not mix, after all.  I let them squeeze and squeeze the paints until the tubes were empty.  It was awesome.

The other fun thing we tackled last week was baking brownies.  Peanut butter cup brownies with chocolate fudge icing and sprinkles!!!  Calories, schmalories…

My little goofballs were so excited to cook with mom!

Here is a photo essay of the creation of brownies…

My boys were so helpful.  Especially when it came time to clean the batter bowl.

I’ve got to come up with more fun cooking projects for them this summer!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. angela
    May 27, 2009 @ 08:25:43

    I forgot to mention yesterday that I like the new look of your blog! Those brownies sure sound good too!

    Reply

  2. One Scrappy Gal
    May 27, 2009 @ 10:01:32

    They are just too cute!!

    Love the brownies! I miss peanut butter and chocolate!

    Reply

Leave a comment